As part of Delhi Police Week – 2018 celebrations, an on-the-spot painting competition based on road safety was organized for school children at India Gate lawns. A total of 1,100 students participated in the painting competition. Amulya Patnaik, Commissioner of Police Delhi; Dependra Pathak, Special Commissioner of Police/Traffic;  Garima Bhatnagar, Jt. Commissioner of Police/Traffic –HQ; Arun Kampani, Jt. Commissioner of Police- Ops and representatives from SIAM, IGL, Hero Motocorp, HMSI were part of the occasion.

An on-the-spot assessment of the painting was done by a team of jury comprising faculty members from Jamia Milia Islamia University and prizes were awarded to the first, second and third prize winners from middle and senior category by Amulya Patnaik.

This year, in addition to the painting competition, the prize distribution ceremony to felicitate the winners of the final competitions held in connection with School Road Safety Awareness Campaign 2017-18 was also awarded by the CP. The School Road Safety Awareness Campaign 2017-18 of Delhi Traffic Police was formally launched by the Commissioner of Police, Delhi on September 15, 2017 as part of the UN Decade of Action for Road Safety 2011-20.  The idea was to organize School Road Safety Awareness Campaigns and competitions over a period of four months from October 2017 to January 2018 targeting participation of about 12 lakh students touching almost all the schools in Delhi. The initial stage of the campaign was to make students aware of various road safety issues through lectures, interactions with Delhi Traffic Police – Road Safety Cell and Circle staff. The first prize winners of each competition in each category (Middle & senior) were awarded cheques of Rs. 10,000. Similarly second and third prize winners were awarded cheques of Rs. 8,000 and Rs. 6,000 respectively.

Road Safety Rolling Trophy was awarded to the best school and also the runner up school for making maximum contribution in promoting road safety awareness among the masses on the basis of the performance of schools. DAV Public School, Ashok Vihar was awarded the Best School Road Safety Rolling trophy and Brilliants’ Convent School, Pitampura, was awarded the Runner-Up Trophy.

I-Safe College Championship trophies for the first, second and third prize winning colleges were awarded to the colleges who have achieved path-breaking changes in the scenario of road safety by using their expertise – “making them do, what they like to do” to create sustainable impact on maximum numbers of public. The championship was conducted by Indian Road Safety Campaign in association with the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways and Delhi Traffic Police.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here