Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 5 seats in Ghaziabad local urban body elections wresting the mayor seat a record 6th time while winnin g all Nagar Palika seats of Khoda, Loni, Muradnagar and Modinagar. Vikas Tewatiya of BJP won chairmanship of nagar Palika Muradnagar while in Modinagar, Ashok Maheshwari of BJP became the chairman. In Khoda, Reena Bhati of BJP became chairman, while in Loni it was BJP’s Ranjita Dhama.

However, in Dasna AIMIM opened its account with Hazzan Hansar winning this seat and becoming the chairman of Dasna Nagar Panchayat. In Faridnagar, and Niwari Independent candidates won whilein Patla it was BSP’s Manoj became Nagar Panchayat’s chairman.

However, as for the municipal councilors a number of Independents and other party candidates won seats in Ghaziabad even as the BJP got the benefit of being the ruling party.

The Congress Party’s Mayor candidate Dolly Sharma got into a spat with the administration as she alleged that their were problems with the EVMs that were not showing up Congress votes.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here